scatmanwfm

Distinguished
Dec 11, 2009
Hey everyone, I've been trying to get into overclocking so I'm still relatively new to it. I have a q6600 quad core and it's always ran at stock settings. I've decided to try and overclock it a bit more for gaming. I'm not looking to get some insane OC out of it just want to maybe get it to 3.2. Currently I have it at 3.2 stable but I have a few questions if someone would be so kind to answer.

1.) Is going 3.2 with a 8 multiplier better than going with a 9 multiplier?

(I know that the lower the multipler the higher your FSB will be that's not really a problem for me I just was wondering if maybe one ran more stable than the other? I'm guessing the 9 because your FSB is less so not as much heat?)

2.) By changing the cpu voltage just a few steps is that really going to affect lifespan drastically or will I still get a decent run from it?

3.)Once I figure out what to set the CPU to should I set it to auto voltage and then try going down little by little to get it to run on the lowest voltage?

4.) I have my memory set to 1066 but when I change my cpu frequency the ram starts to go up. Does that mean that it's linked? If so I'm not sure how to unlink it I haven't seen any option for it. I am on a Rampage Formula Bios.

Those are pretty much the questions I have. This website is kickass for noobs like me and I appreciate any responses from anyone thanks!

festerovic

Distinguished
1) Yes 400 MHz x 8.0 multiplier is the best for the OC you want.
2)You may not need to raise the voltage at all to get this OC, but theoretically yes it reduces lifespan. But will you care about this cpu in 5-6 years anyways?
3)No, don't use auto settings. Pick a voltage and test with it. Prime95 and orthos are good for turning your processors on full blast.
4) Yes the FSB links to the RAM. RAM speed is usually = to FSB * RAM switch.
Example: