Q9450 rampage overclock

munchies

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2008
Hi i want to oc my q9450, but i'm a noob :whistle: i have done loads of reading but just still not sure and wanted to see if any of u guys could help me out a little, i have messed around with the cpu level up thing on the rampage formula and set it to crazy and it oc to 3.5 i used realtemp and was getting 56 load but turned it back down didnt evan bother to test it anymore coz i knew it would probably be unstable, anyway what i wanna try to get is hopefully a 3.4 oc, so i would have to set FSB to 8x425? also i would set ram to 850Mhz? is this right? if so what else would i have to set and enable/disable. i just wanna rough guide to start of and go by, someone said to go up in steps, what would u recommend. once i know roughly what i'm doing i will start to understand very quickly as i do with most things but just need a little help at fisrt :)
thanks guys

truromeo4juliet

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2006
keep a fire extinguisher handy, sounds like you're gonna need it

just kidding, you have the basic idea down, but the number one thing you need to do is do EVERYTHING in SMALL STEPS... overclocking can cause instability, and the smallest jump can throw your system off its game... you need to make sure, absolutely sure, that you increase SLOW and TEST... TEST... TEST... TEST... TEST...

I have a Q9450 also but i have yet to get a board to throw it in... previously, i had an e4300 running from 1.8GHz to 2.7GHz on air, with 4GB's DDR800 G.Skill RAM and an eVGA 680i board... i'm not going to go into details, but had i dared to go further, i could've gotten it to 3GHz easy, more than doubling the speed of the processor... here's a great link for overclocking noobs though... this is what I learned the basics from, it's for eVGA motherboards with the Phoenix Award BIOS but the concept is still the same:

http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=61146