Question about Licids / Aura Shard / Comes Into Play

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Hi. I have a Licid enchanting a creature. When I pay the mana to end the
effect turning the Licid back into a creature, would it trigger a card
such as Aura Shard? (Whenever a creature comes into play under your
control, you may destroy target artifact or enchantment.)

If not, would somebody please explain why?

Thanks.

-Alex.
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Alex Kramer wrote:

> Hi. I have a Licid enchanting a creature. When I pay the mana to end the
> effect turning the Licid back into a creature, would it trigger a card
> such as Aura Shard? (Whenever a creature comes into play under your
> control, you may destroy target artifact or enchantment.)

No.
>
> If not, would somebody please explain why?

Because the Licid did not come into play. It was an Enchantment,
it is now a Creature, but it was in play the whole time.
"Comes into play" means that the permanent was not in the In Play
zone, and now it is. The Licid didn't do that.
>
> Thanks.
>
> -Alex.

--
Christopher Mattern

"Which one you figure tracked us?"
"The ugly one, sir."
"...Could you be more specific?"
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Tue, 29 Mar 2005 21:59:24 GMT, Alex Kramer <notavailable@sorry.com> wrote:
>Hi. I have a Licid enchanting a creature. When I pay the mana to end the
>effect turning the Licid back into a creature, would it trigger a card
>such as Aura Shard? (Whenever a creature comes into play under your
>control, you may destroy target artifact or enchantment.)

No.

>If not, would somebody please explain why?

It will become a creature, right enough. But: this does not make it "come
into play". It was already IN play, and you already controlled it - it just
wasn't a creature. Changing a permanent's type, and/or changing its controller,
does not cause anything to come into play, nor does it cause anything to leave
play. (It just makes something in play look different, or move to someone
else's territory.) So this can't trigger a "When <foo> comes into play"
ability at all.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Alex Kramer <notavailable@sorry.com> wrote:

> Hi. I have a Licid enchanting a creature. When I pay the mana to end the
> effect turning the Licid back into a creature, would it trigger a card
> such as Aura Shard? (Whenever a creature comes into play under your
> control, you may destroy target artifact or enchantment.)
>
> If not, would somebody please explain why?

A permanent comes into play when the card or token representing it is
moved _into_ the in-play zone. A permanent (i.e., object already in
play) whose type changes doesn't "come into play."
--
Daniel W. Johnson
panoptes@iquest.net
http://members.iquest.net/~panoptes/
039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W