Questions about multiple problems linked to a loose power supply to motherboard cable

jtp542

Honorable
Sep 15, 2013
Hi, I'm a total computer amateur who built a computer about a year ago. This summer I started having some problems, and though I think I finally got them solved, I didn't go about the solving part in the greatest way and I'm just generally curious what exactly was going on.

At one point, my monitor unexpectedly shut down and displayed "No Signal". From that point on, whenever I would try to boot up Windows, it would get through the "Starting Windows" screen and then the monitor would, once again, display "No Signal" and I would have to power down the computer.
Then, today I powered up and it got past the "Starting Windows" screen, but when I typed in my password to log in, it stalled on the "Welcome" screen and wouldn't go any further. Next time I tried to power it up, it automatically prompted me to conduct a chkdsk. When I did, there were a whole lot of "File record segment ### is unreadable". I just let it do its thing, and when I started it up again, everything seemed to be working fine. However, after about half an hour of using the computer like normal, the monitor switched off again with its "No Signal" and the same problem as before occurred: As soon as I got past the Windows start screen the monitor would not get a signal.
Then, for a while, whenever I would try to turn on the computer, the LED lights of the fans and the PSU fan would pulse, but the computer would not turn on.

Finally, what fixed it (at least temporarily) was unplugging and replugging the PSU into the motherboard. Everything seems to be working fine now, and I'm assuming that the problem was just that the cable was loose. However, I'm just curious: could all of the problems that I experienced come from just that one loose cable? How exactly would it cause those problems? Is there potentially some deeper issue that I'm not seeing?