Questions about online schools...

Katiania

Honorable
Jan 6, 2014
In 1997 I graduated from a community college with and Associates degree in computer repair and technical support. Because of my marital situation, I was unable to move to a bigger city for work as I had intended to do after graduation. Instead, I had to settle for a entry-level call center job that didn't even consider my AAAS and hired anyone off the street.

Now, years and several un-related jobs later, I am working at a minimum wage job in retail and am DESPERATE to change my situation. I have to work full-time due to my current spouses health issues keeping him from working. He does get SSI but we barely scrape by each month. Because I have really been out of the industry for so long, I need to start over. Every decent paying IT job posting I see requires a Bachelors degree and numerous certifications.

I don't live near any brick-and-mortar schools that offer IT programs that I would be interested in. For several days, I have been researching the multitudes of online colleges and universities that offer IT degrees. I am not sure at this point how much financial aid I will get and the costs of most of these schools are pretty high. Looking at accreditation, graduation rates, retention rates, tuition fees, and the student reviews/complaints, has my head spinning!