Question Questions about Upgrade and RGB set up

metalw6

Reputable
Nov 24, 2018
Hello everyone, I am looking for some suggestions about possible upgrade and also some good RGB set up (fans, strips, etc.).

Here is my current set up:

sh-build.png

I am using my PC mainly for gaming, music and video editing. I am not a pro-gamer, so I am not playing any FPS or games that requires a super fast response, but I do play simulations such as Space sim (Elite Dangerous, possibly Star Citizen), ETS2, but also action games like Assassins Creed, Borderlands and MMOs as well.

First of all I want to ask if you think it would be worth to move from a Ryzen 7 2700 CPU to a Ryzen 7 5800X or if I should wait little bit more until another new family will be released. With that being said, since I want to have 32GB of RAM, should I change the one I have to something with more performance/support and compatible with the 7 5800X, or can I keep the one I have and adding other 2 banks to reach 32GB?

For GPU, I know how bad the situation is at the moment, but I am also considering to move to a 34'' monitor, so going up in terms of resolution as well. I am not interested in 4K but more to QHD, as I think the RX 580 cannot handle games with a bigger resolution than the 1080p, is that correct? If I need to change GPU with something more powerful, which one should I get between a 3060/3060TI/3070? Of course here the money will make the difference, but tell me your honest opinion if you think that even a 3060 can handle a QHD gaming resolution. Furthermore, do you think my PSU is enough to power up a system with a 3060/3060TI/3070?