Raid 0 Vs No Raid!

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

coolmac11

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2006
Thanks you Aids, I think I will buy a single HD configuration until Raid 0 becomes more safety friendly... :wink:. I really don't care if games load 5 seconds faster with Raid 0 anyways, it would only be a major issue if single HDs take post 30 seconds... 8O. By the way, which capacity offers the best cost/GB?

Thanks

pat

Expert
Thanks you Aids, I think I will buy a single HD configuration until Raid 0 becomes more safety friendly... :wink:. I really don't care if games load 5 seconds faster with Raid 0 anyways, it would only be a major issue if single HDs take post 30 seconds... 8O. By the way, which capacity offers the best cost/GB?

Thanks

I have 5 hdd in my system. 2 are in RAID0, Fact is, I've been running RAID0 since 2001, and I never had any problem.

Since I have 5 hdd in my system, that means that I'm more at risk. So what. I have backup of my valuable stuff so if any or all of the 5 drives chrash at the same time, I won't loose any important files. What is so valuable? I think that personal data such as picture, video or some kind of personnal stuff. MP3s are not valuable stuff, unless you are caugh with some kind of DRM that prevent backup because thay can be found again you know where. same thing for movies... Internet is the biggest backup service, learn to use it.

So, if you can turn off your computer and the world is still running, then your data is not that important. Get 2 hdd, RAID0 them, get a smaller one as a backup drive, and synchronize your picture folder on both the array and the single drive. If you have other important stuff, just sync them too. Application like Second Copy allow just that. You simply backup what you want, no need for a backup of the OS, as it can be reinstalled, just like applications.