Status
Not open for further replies.

VoodooGlowDoll

Distinguished
Oct 26, 2010
I'm new to RAID so please forgive any omissions.

I just setup a new RAID 5 with 4x 2TB drives on a PCI RAID card in Win7 64. I set them up in the BIOS and formatted a GPT partition with no issues. When I started to transfer my data from my old 1TB green drives it would start at ~40 MB/s for the 1st 500mb or so then quickly drop to about 2 MB/s. Since I ordered two of the RAID cards I swapped them out and the 2nd one wasn't much better. It would start at ~95 and drop to 4. Changing nothing I then transfered some files between two of the 1tb drives connected to the mobo at a steady 70 MB/s.

Is this just an issue of junk RAID cards? Do I need to go to PCI-Express for decent speeds? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Win 7 64
Athlon 64 x2
4gb DDR
GA-K8N-SLi (nForce 4)

RAID 5
4x WD Green AV 2TB
SYBA SY-PCI40010 PCI SATA II

sub mesa

Distinguished
FakeRAID5 is both unreliable and very slow particularly when writing. Do not consider this anything more reliable than a single disk, and force yourself to keep extremely tight backups when using less reliable RAID solutions.

SiI-3124 is a PCI-X chip, if you're using it on PCI the performance will be even worse.

Consider avoiding RAID5 and use the onboard RAID capabilities or no RAID at all; all these fakeRAID solutions (nVidia MediaShield, Silicon Image) are not very reliable at all.

VoodooGlowDoll

Distinguished
Oct 26, 2010
What makes it "fake" and how do I get real RAID5 then? I can afford to spend a little more on a nice card if I have to. I've been running a media server for almost 10 years now and HDD failure is by far the most common way I loose data. I really need a good solution that still maximizes my available storage. With 5TB of data and counting backup isn't really a viable solution. The best I can do there is fill up drives for friends from time to time so I can get things back from them in case of a failure.

sub mesa