Siggy19

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2009
I am in the process of specing out the build for a new PC. My last one has lasted 11 years with a CPU and MB replacement about 6 years ago so I tend to prefer to build on the trailing edge of the bleeding one.

Thus, the i7 920 seems to be the sweet spot which should give me a good few years of use, including the option to overclock it in a while if I need an extra boost but cannot yet justify a replacement.

I am considering getting maybe six 640GB Caviar Black Hard Drives and RAID SIXing them. I am not good at doing regular backups (although I intend to get a case with a front mounted e-SATA port for my 1TB external drive) and it strikes me that being able to recover from TWO dead hard drives is a nice precaution.

However, I am wondering what the impact will be on performance. What elements of performance will RAID 6 help and hurt ? Access Speed, Read performance, Write performance etc. Should I get a hardware RAID card or is that unnecessary for an i7 ?

Also, do all the RAID 6 controllers (software and hardware) use the same format to store the data so that I can just rip the disks out and put them in another system with a (different) RAID 6 controller and be able to read them immediately if the old controller dies ?

Considering that any mobo capable of running an i7 uses the X58 chipset with the ICH10R southbridge, which is limited to RAID 0/1/5/10, you have no choice but to use a hardware RAID controller if you want a RAID6 array.