RAID and GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3L

dnsdaemon

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2010
Does the GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3L have RAID? if so, how does one instal XP (or Ubuntu) without a floppy drive and no "slip streaming" the OS?

dnsdaemon

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2010
Now that is what confuses me: “RAID”, as is offered by INTEL, is software based. The various XCH’s (where X is a number, like in 7CH, 9CH, 10CH (never heard of an 8CH)) offer more SATA ports as the number X increases. That is the reason why we need a “driver” to be able to even boot off of the SATA drives. At least until Windows XP (I have no Vista/7 experience). Windows offers its’ own RAID experience using Disk Manager. You can Ctrl-Click on a drive to select it to be amongst the pool of drives you want to RAID and, depending upon the number of disks you choose, a right click on any one of the chosen, highlighted drives gives you various options. INTEL’s Matrix manager is mostly a SATA interface driver and an application software that can also be partly accessed during a POST-up. (by INT 9).

This is not the case for a pure, say, Silicon Graphics or a Promise RAID controller where the OS can be installed without going over the “F6” and floppy drive/CD-ROM routine. So to paraphrase and re-position my question a bit, the 8 or so SATA headers in the GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3L are hard-wired via the BIOS software as IDE and the Matrix manager is not capable of loading because of this? Does that mean, since windows has the default IDE drivers, it does not need an “F6” or equivalent exercise while loading onto one of the disks attached to a SATA header?

Finally, how does Linux/Solaris see the Raid? Do they have the drivers built into the OS loader?

I shall be obliged if someone enlightens me. I am told intelligent and knowledgeable folks live here. I thank you and am sorry to impose my, probably inane, lack of understanding of such things.

bilbat

Splendid