Question Ram compatibilty

Mar 3, 2019
I recently purchased a computer and it has an MSI A320M PRO-VH plus motherboard with a Ryzen 5 2600 CPU. It came with 8GB of GSKILL Ripjaws 5 RAM-Model f4-2400c15d-16gvr. I want to expand it to 16 GBs but the only model i can find is f4-2400c15s-8GVR which looks to be the same but just an 8GB stick. I am new to the world of upgrades and computer hardware so i was not sure if this will be compatible or not as i am not to familiar on the diffrent versions of RAM. Any help is appreciated.

Those sticks MIGHT work together, but they might not. Anytime you mix memory that didn't all come together in a kit, you may have success or you may not. There is no way to be sure other than ONLY using sticks that come together in a kit that have been matched and tested from the factory. Probably, they will play nice together as they are the same series and same timings, but they could have different memory chips, ranks or rows, and still have those things, and not want to work together because there may be substantial differences in the secondary or tertiary timings.

The stick that it came with was supposed to be part of a 16GB kit, so clearly somebody removed (Or they only used one stick out of the set at the builder facility) one stick to use elsewhere. I'd recommend simply buying a 16GB kit and selling your lone stick to save yourself the possibility of any headaches, but that's up to you. Probably those will work together. Possibly, they may not.

The odd man out, or, unmatched memory