Question Ram slot 1 possibly bad?

Jan 31, 2020
Hello, first time here, I have some knowledge of PC's IE my troubleshooting with this problem, but nothing in depth when it comes to hardware.

I ordered a PC from cyberpower, This PC has 32 gigs of ram(8x4 ddr4 3200), and a gigabyte aorus x570 ultra.

I noticed my ram was running slow, so I used gigabytes windows software to change the clock speed to the speed the ram sticks were, 3200. After some time, I checked it again, and it had reverted to 2133 or something like that. So I switched it again, restarted right away 2x and XMP went back to disabled, and the ram back to 2133, the default.

I then decided not to trust the software and just go into the bios myself and modify it, as I had to do that on a PC years ago. Easy, no problem.

The bios was unable to be accessed, only a black screen. I tried every combination of display ports and HDMI ports, different resolutions, monitors, tv's, you name it. I then proceeded to clear cmos, no luck. Then removed the graphics card and pulled the battery and clear'd cmos again. No luck.

On an off chance I read about ram sometimes causing issues. Removed 1/3 and left 2/4.......BAM, bios. So I started troubleshooting further, tried ridiculous combinations of each stick of ram, and each slot. Finally figuring out that if there is a ram stick in slot 1, I cannot access the bios. Windows will boot fine, everything seems to run fine, except that I cannot access the bios, and the ram runs at 2133 instead of 3200. Each ram stick works in any other slot, but none of them let me access the bios in slot 1. And without anything in slot one, I can enable XMP and get the 3200 speed.

I should add, the graphics card removal was a cyberpowerpc suggestion as well as the cmos, battery removal, and they were on the phone with me while I was running through the ram slots testing.