Ram Upgrade wont Upgrade

crashpsycho

Honorable
Apr 25, 2013
sorry im really brand new to this webite so if im in the wrong spot please educate and i will fix.

Heres my issue my Computer wont Upgrade Past 4GB of RAM but there more to this than what im seeing and i dont have proper knowledge to find my solution nor have anythig ive found on the web or troubleshot for fixed it

Motherboard: Gateway ET 1161-03
Ram Upgradable to 8GB

trying to install 5Gb of Ram ive aquired thru an older(but newer) PC
1-Kingston 2Gb 2rx8 pc2-6400u-666-12-e1
1-Samsung 1gb 1rx8 pc2-6400u-666-12-zz
2-Hynix 1gb 2rx8 pc2-5300u-555-12
2-Hynix 512mb 1rx8 pc2-5300u-555-12

Now all of these are cross compatible meaning regard of what order i put then in the RAM slots it will boot but theres a trick
i cant use the kingston2gb+samsung1gb+(2) Hynix1gb(now the Hynix were the original RAM in the PC so they definitely work) together the PC wont boot past main splash screen description screen is very pixelated then goes Black-No repsonse to Keyboard commands nothing

But if i use the Kingston2gb+Samsung1gb+(2)Hynix512mb the pc will Boot without issue

Here is what the Crucial Website Says Click Here

so im tring to find out why it wont work or how to get it to work so i can use all 5GB of RAM
im not mr money Pockets so im just trying to use what i have

Thank for the further education

From your description of what your trying to do and what your using for ram sticks it looks to me like you have a triple channel motherboard because your trying to use 6 sticks of ram.
You are also trying to do something that is a known problem area and that is mixing and matching ram sticks. The reason that the computer won't start with all 6 sticks in is because the bios cannot get them all to work together and can't come up with a solution to have them all working.