Random boot failures, began following secondary hard drive replacement

Sep 23, 2018
EDIT: Somehow this was posted into answers, don't know how that happened. It was supposed to be in the forum.

First of all, this is my first time ever coming here. I became a bit frustrated when I encountered the same issues as this guy:
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-3728139/experience-creating-login-tom-hardware.html
Please fix these problems. They don't make me feel great when I can't even sign in because the message is not specific. Thank you.

Anyway...

A few months ago I had to deal with a failing hard drive, which was my secondary drive (letter D). I was able to buy two new drives of identical size and manufacturer and use Clonezilla to clone the failing one to one of the new ones without issue. My computer seems fine in regards to the new drive, everything so far is working as it should before the initial reported failure.

A week or so after that, I was suddenly greeted with a BIOS message "boot failure detected." The full message is: "The system has experienced a boot failure possibly due to incorrect configuration. Previous settings in BIOS may not be compatible with current hardware state."

This is troubling me because my secondary drive is only for files and programs and stuff, the OS is on my primary drive (letter C) which is still running fine, as far as I know.

The two original drives were bought at the same time. They are both from 2013. I have tried adjusting the boot order and checked all the connections. Not sure what else to try since it's so random. I could go weeks with no issue and suddenly one day it might hang after the BIOS screen and then show the blinking underscore for a few seconds and give me the boot failure message. If I enter the BIOS and then just immediately exit it, the computer boots fine. If I restart, it will usually boot fine. It appears to be a random failure from a cold boot.