Nov 14, 2022
Hi,

I have a Dell G7 2018 7588 which I use for Gaming and work, here are the specs

CPU i7-8750H @ 2.20 GHz 2.21GHZ
RAM : 32 GB (31.8 GB Useable)
GPU : GTX 1060M (6 GB)
SSD: 512 NVMe (Where is save my games)
HDD : 1 TB

I know it is not the best setup for gaming these days but I have been using it for over 3 years for gaming and until a few months ago it has started dropping frames randomly during gaming, for the first few minutes it work fine and then it starts to drop frames every 30 seconds or so, I usually have the Task Manager running to look at the stats and it shows lower Nividia GTX usage and higher Intel Graphics Card usage when it stutters, Here is a screenshot.

I am also undervolting my GPU using ThrottleStop, screenshot here, to keep the temperatures down, when I run TSBench it shows no errors, which means that undervolting is done right, I think. Here is the link to my UserBenchmark, The GPU and CPU temperatures average on 76°C and 82°C.

Here is what I have tried so far,
  • Adjusting udervolt settings in TS
  • Updating BIOS to latest version (Updated 11/13/22)
  • Updating GPU drivers (Updated 11/13/22)
  • Updating any other outdated drivers
  • Running games on lower settings, still the stutter after 10 mins or so
I have tried looking for help online and nothing seems to work, what can I do fix this problem other than throwing my computer out the window? Any help would be appreciated.

Many Thanks,
Umair

Ralston18

Titan
Make and model PSU? Wattage, age (3 years ?), condition (original to build, new, refurbished, used)? History of heavy gaming use?

Also use Resource Monitor to observe system performance. However do not use Resource Monitor at the same time as Task Manager.

Look in Reliability History and Event Viewer for error codes, warnings, or even informational events that occur just before or at the time of the frame drops.

Nov 14, 2022