Question Random rare BSOD-s

veeljko23

Commendable
May 24, 2020
273
2
1,685
0
Please keep it to 1 thread
I have had this issue for the past few months where i would get the bsod while gaming or even randomly while broswing. Error message is MEMORY_MANAGEMENT and now i just had one with CRICTIAL PROCESS DIED message. I suspect its either ram or psu since i had random blue screen forever but they werent happening often so i didnt care.
I7 870 Turbo Boost ON - gammaxx 200t
ASUS P7H55-M PRO
4x2gb ddr3 ram 1333mhz
TUF GTX 1650 super
lc power 6650 v2.2 ( i bought it used so i dont know how long it worked before)
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,140
5,021
166,290
10,407
Can you follow option one on the following link - here - and then do this step below: Small memory dumps - Have Windows Create a Small Memory Dump (Minidump) on BSOD - that creates a file in c windows/minidump after the next BSOD

  1. Open Windows File Explore
  2. Navigate to C:\Windows\Minidump
  3. Copy the mini-dump files out onto your Desktop
  4. Do not use Winzip, use the built in facility in Windows
  5. Select those files on your Desktop, right click them and choose 'Send to' - Compressed (zipped) folder
  6. Upload the zip file to the Cloud (OneDrive, DropBox . . . etc.)
  7. Then post a link here to the zip file, so we can take a look for you . . .
critical process died would be an odd PSU error.

lc power 6650 v2.2 ( i bought it used so i dont know how long it worked before)
buying a used PSU is like buying a used HDD, you never know when it will stop. But PSU can take everything with it.

Not sure I would trust a used PSU. I see your point.

If you can show me dumps, I can at least see if its something else.
 

veeljko23

Commendable
May 24, 2020
273
2
1,685
0
Can you follow option one on the following link - here - and then do this step below: Small memory dumps - Have Windows Create a Small Memory Dump (Minidump) on BSOD - that creates a file in c windows/minidump after the next BSOD

  1. Open Windows File Explore
  2. Navigate to C:\Windows\Minidump
  3. Copy the mini-dump files out onto your Desktop
  4. Do not use Winzip, use the built in facility in Windows
  5. Select those files on your Desktop, right click them and choose 'Send to' - Compressed (zipped) folder
  6. Upload the zip file to the Cloud (OneDrive, DropBox . . . etc.)
  7. Then post a link here to the zip file, so we can take a look for you . . .
critical process died would be an odd PSU error.


buying a used PSU is like buying a used HDD, you never know when it will stop. But PSU can take everything with it.

Not sure I would trust a used PSU. I see your point.

If you can show me dumps, I can at least see if its something else.
i just opened the place for minidump and i think i already have one? View: https://imgur.com/a/4os2xzM
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,140
5,021
166,290
10,407
did you follow the steps of copying them to desktop and use the zip function to compress them all.
Then upload them to a file sharing website such as Onedrive, Dropbox, Google Drive and show a link here.
 

veeljko23

Commendable
May 24, 2020
273
2
1,685
0
I have had some random bsod-s for a long time and i noticed that they usually happen when i close an app or open it, also they know to happen if im playing something
I also have minidump file and it would be great if someone could tell me whats wrong, i also made a clean windows reinstallation so im pretty confident that its a hardware issue, ram probbably
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1p1AWebEiF0YVWSObeo1qLGn9QXGfNjwb/view?usp=sharing
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,140
5,021
166,290
10,407
Conversion of dumps

report - Click run as fiddle to see report

File: 100122-18875-01.dmp (Oct 2 2022 - 07:53:08)
BugCheck: [MEMORY_MANAGEMENT (1A)]
Probably caused by: memory_corruption (Process: brave.exe)
Uptime: 2 Day(s), 5 Hour(s), 23 Min(s), and 52 Sec(s)

nothing obvious so lets start with drivers
Download Win10 Auto Installation Program (NDIS) from under the windows header here - https://www.realtek.com/en/component/zoo/category/network-interface-controllers-10-100-1000m-gigabit-ethernet-pci-express-software

Given age of PC, thats about only driver I would update.. or can. You have newest Nvidia drivers, your lan drivers are from 3 years ago though so could fix it.
 

veeljko23

Commendable
May 24, 2020
273
2
1,685
0
Conversion of dumps

report - Click run as fiddle to see report

File: 100122-18875-01.dmp (Oct 2 2022 - 07:53:08)
BugCheck: [MEMORY_MANAGEMENT (1A)]
Probably caused by: memory_corruption (Process: brave.exe)
Uptime: 2 Day(s), 5 Hour(s), 23 Min(s), and 52 Sec(s)

nothing obvious so lets start with drivers
Download Win10 Auto Installation Program (NDIS) from under the windows header here - https://www.realtek.com/en/component/zoo/category/network-interface-controllers-10-100-1000m-gigabit-ethernet-pci-express-software

Given age of PC, thats about only driver I would update.. or can. You have newest Nvidia drivers, your lan drivers are from 3 years ago though so could fix it.
I installed it, what should i do now? Or do i just need to wait to see if it occurs again
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,140
5,021
166,290
10,407
i didn't mean to hit enter yet - I am not confident to say what it is yet.

what ssd/hdd do you have?

Try running memtest86 on each of your ram sticks, one stick at a time, up to 4 passes. Only error count you want is 0, any higher could be cause of the BSOD. Remove/replace ram sticks with errors. Memtest is created as a bootable USB so that you don’t need windows to run it

not sure what this is part of
equ8_helper.sys
anticheat? - https://back.engineering/12/08/2021/
 

veeljko23

Commendable
May 24, 2020
273
2
1,685
0
i didn't mean to hit enter yet - I am not confident to say what it is yet.

what ssd/hdd do you have?

Try running memtest86 on each of your ram sticks, one stick at a time, up to 4 passes. Only error count you want is 0, any higher could be cause of the BSOD. Remove/replace ram sticks with errors. Memtest is created as a bootable USB so that you don’t need windows to run it

not sure what this is part of
equ8_helper.sys
anticheat? - https://back.engineering/12/08/2021/
My windows is on Patriot Burst Elite got it new last year in june, i will run memtest tonight since from what i heard its not a short process, and that is an anticheat for a steam game, since when that restart happened i was playing that game
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,140
5,021
166,290
10,407
i think we found our problem

if its new, do you have proof of purchase?
Blaze have a 3 year warranty. Could try RMA it - https://www.patriotmemory.com/patriot-memory-warranties-and-rma

You need a new ssd, and i wouldn't mess around as it could just stop working completely.

If you hover mouse over the Bad red button it shows what scores add up to show its bad. All the ones on your picture don't seem that bad.

problem with 120gb ssd is they don't have many extra cells for error correction. The bigger the drives get, the more free space they have to swap out if they need to replace cells. You would be better off with a 250 or bigger.

I would copy anything off c that you want to save onto the other drive, just to be on safe side. What is the other drive?
 
Last edited:

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,140
5,021
166,290
10,407
EDIT: This suprised me since i know that disk is almost unusable at 0% health and mine works fine, and i instaleld hard disk sentinel and health is 100% on it so idk whats happening
thats odd as all it does is reads the SMART reporting from the drive.
I would run https://www.hdtune.com/ trial to get a 3rd opinion

try checking the data cables inside PC perhaps. Maybe replace the sata cable. Could be its to blame. Unplug PC before you do this.
Can't say I seen crystaldiskinfo be so wrong before.
 

veeljko23

Commendable
May 24, 2020
273
2
1,685
0
thats odd as all it does is reads the SMART reporting from the drive.
I would run https://www.hdtune.com/ trial to get a 3rd opinion

try checking the data cables inside PC perhaps. Maybe replace the sata cable. Could be its to blame. Unplug PC before you do this.
Can't say I seen crystaldiskinfo be so wrong before.
Yeah, same as on hard disk sentinel, i dont see percentage but you know better https://prnt.sc/o9rajVSiRH84
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS