omfg

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2007
I'm going to be building a new rig and I haven't really been following hardware since 2004, so I'm not up to speed on everything. I've done some research and selected every component I'll need except the motherboard, which I need some help with. I'm quite confident about what I've selected so far. I've never used Intel before but now I'm switching to them due to all the praise for the core2 series and the fact that amd don't seem to be bringing anything particularly exciting to the table with their phenom cpus. Anyway, here's what I've decided on so far:

thermaltake armor case
corsair hx620w
intel q6600
corsair TWIN2X2048-8500C5D
8800gt
2 seagate 7200.10 250gb drives salvaged from my current pc
2 optical drives also salvaged
audigy 2 zs also salvaged

What motherboard would suit me best? Must have an ide channel for my 2 optical drives and a fdd channel thingy too. I don't need sli/crossfire. Not planning to overclock but I'd like a board that can handle it reasonably well so I can in the future. If anyone's had problems with particular boards with similar setups to the above, please tell.

Oh and can anyone tell me how noisy the stock intel coolers are? My amd 64 system is fairly loud and I'd like to things to be quieter with this new system, doesn't have to be silent. Wondered if it's worth getting a different/quieter heatsink/fan or whether the rest of the rig will probably drown out the cpu fan anyway?

Intel stock cooler doesnt make much noise, so if u arent going to OC,then dont waste your money on getting a new cooler

i recommend ASUS P5K or GIGABYTE P35 DS3L, they have good price and will serve u well

omfg

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2007
Why won't the audigy fit? The board has 2 pci slots right? :S Am I missing something? And I have SATA hard drives, I only needed the ONE ide channel. Sorry if I didn't make that clear.

hairycat101

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2007