Recommended System Specifications for NAS?

jasonhickman17

Distinguished
May 15, 2013
What are the recommended system specs for building a local NAS server? I am currently planning on using UnRaid and making the server with initially 6TB of storage and planning on moving up to about 24TB in the future as i am assuming that most motherboards will be capable of using 6 Sata ports.

Does the CPU have to be overly fast to run this server? Will two cores be enough? Do you need a lot of RAM if you are going to be using a single SSD as Cache for the file transfers?

Another relatively big question is:

Is there any issue (will gaming performance be hindered) with building the NAS into my own PC such as the build that Linus Tech Tips did here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpXhSrhmUXo

Also what is the security like when using a NAS as i don't want the files to have any chance of being lost. I am still learning about RAID arrays and right now i am trying to find an array that will let me use the most storage possible and still have the most security if one of the files were to fail. I am currently thinking that a RAID 5 array will work best for my needs, as i will get the capacity and speed of the first two drives but the third will be almost as a backup to the first two. Not sure how this scales when it comes to six drives whether that would mean that two of the drives are for recovery and the other 4 drives are for storage, i would be able to live with that without issue. Then comes the dreaded viruses infecting the entire array which i think with selective file writing, disconnection of the array when it is not in use and Avast Pro i should be able to cover all of my bases there. If you have any comments on this plan for my NAS it would be a huge help and is not expected!

Thanks for all of the help in advance it is greatly appreciated!

Jason H

Solution