[SOLVED] recording the U Tube

catch35

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2011
I am an 83 yr old vet who knows literally nothing about camcorders. I would like to buy one that I can record historical videos from the U tube and edit them as I record them from the computer. My VCR use to work for this but it is phased out. I then want to play them on the TV. Can you recommend a camera for this? Thank you

Solution

A cheap USB capture card will work with VCR sourced files. That is not how I am reading this.

I have something like this device that I used to copy VHS tapes to my PC to burn DVDs with:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815158282

Came with Roxio's Easy VHS to DVD:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIABJY8N58868

It sounds like catch35 wants to record video from his screen with a camcorder and then edit the camcorder video files on his PC. If that is correct, saving the Youtube videos directly to the PC and editing (mostly using snippets, I assume) into a...

catch35

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2011
Thank you for your kind attention and help. I don't think you
understood the question. I keep getting the same answers from other
sources.. You see, I want to edit the U tube videos as I record them.
I want certain segments of different ones in order to make one that
has the material that I am interested in. Then with the segments
recorded at the same time, I have a new video I can watch. If I
wasn't going to edit them, I could simply watch them on the U tube
site. What I want is to collect information on a certain subject for
instance, the Panzer III tank, and complete a video that covers the
information I am interested in. Maybe I'm doing a poor job describing
my problem. What I would like to do is have my old VCR again but they
screwed me when they went from analog to digital. I want a camcorder I can set up and actually take pictures of the U tube videos and edit
them as I record them. Then with the camera and an HDMI cord I can