Refurbished GTX 1070 vs New GTX 1060

Sep 26, 2018
Hello, I was wondering if I should buy a new GTX 1060 6GB on amazon for $280 or a refurbished founder's edition GTX 1070 on ebay for $260. The 1070 is seller refurbished. I am new to buying used PC parts. Is it worth the risk of the 1070 end up failing on me some time soon? I play on a 1920x1200 monitor w/60hz refresh rate and I know that the 1070 would be overkill for my current resolution, but I plan on upgrading to a 144hz monitor at some time in the future. I also don't want to upgrade my graphics card for at least 2 years, but still be able to play most games at 60 fps at 1080p on high-max settings. Any answers will be appreciated, thanks!

Solution
If there is any kind of a seller offered warranty or money back guarantee, I'd say go with the 1070. You can even get a warranty through ebay on these kinds of things if you can pay a little more. The 1070 is quite a bit more powerful than the 1060, so even if you got a buyers protection plan or something that cost $20 more, you'd still be coming out ahead.

If you can't get any of that, the 1060 6GB is still a great card, and there are fewer risks associated with buying new.

If nothing else, see if you can contact the seller and see where the 1070 came from. If it was a mining card, hard pass. If it was from just a regular gamer, it would be worth getting.
If there is any kind of a seller offered warranty or money back guarantee, I'd say go with the 1070. You can even get a warranty through ebay on these kinds of things if you can pay a little more. The 1070 is quite a bit more powerful than the 1060, so even if you got a buyers protection plan or something that cost $20 more, you'd still be coming out ahead.

If you can't get any of that, the 1060 6GB is still a great card, and there are fewer risks associated with buying new.