Removed heatsink from cpu to clean dust. Do I need new thermal paste, and if so, how? Newbie here...

AlAthans

Prominent
Mar 19, 2017
Hi guys,

I was cleaning dust out of my old 2008 vintage Dell desktop to try to cure a constantly full speed fan. Heatsink fins were clogged with dust, I could see through the fan blades. I removed some screws thinking just the fan would come off, giving me access to clean the heatsink fins. But, the while heatsink came off of the cpu.

I need to clean off the thermal grease and reapply some, right?

If so:

Can I clean the cpu gently in-place while still attached to the mother board?

In what fashion do I apply the paste to the cpu? It is an intel core 2 duo.

The most I've ever done to a computer is add some ram and 2nd hard drive. I'm a newbie at this kind of thing...was just trying to clean the dust out of it. So I want to make sure I get this right. Thanks for any help, I appreciate it! I did look up some info but as a new wanted some guidance specific to my cpu to be sure I get this right.

Added some links to pix. Sorry, couldn't figure out how to embed the Flickr photo in a post via my phone (desktop in question is only computer in the family)

https://m.flickr.com/photos/c750_olympus/33541008425/?xajax=1

https://m.flickr.com/photos/c750_olympus/33500021876/?xajax=1

lakimens

Honorable
Yes, you shouldn't remove the CPU. Use alcohol that is over 70%, I use 96% and some towel or toilet paper.
You apply a small dot in the center, it's called the "pea" method, when you press down with the heatsink it will spread.

You need to clean both the CPU and the heat sink with high % alcohol but don't go crazy looking for it. You can usually get 91% at the grocery or drug store. It's also best to use lint free cloth or paper. Coffee filters work OK.