[SOLVED] replace spectrum hardware

Dec 7, 2020
i’m new to toms hardware and have a question about modems and router. i have spectrum as my service provider, is it a good idea to get 3rd party hardware to replace the supplied ones that i get from spectrum? i want to get faster speed and better connection mainly. thank you.

Solution
its been happening off and on for a couple of month and affected wifi devices like security cameras, ipad, tvs. i tryd calling support twice last week but got discourage bc of all the pre recording and waiting time so i will try again tomorrow and hope ill get someone to come and look at my issue. in the mean time i was just looking at other options but thank you guys for responding to my post.👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾
WIFI can't be "fixed" with a single WIFI radio blasting a signal. Why? Because the device might be able to hear your "blaster" but can't respond because it has much lower transmit power. You could have lots of interference from nearby, competing WIFI. NO "mega router" can fix that problem.
To fix your network, you need...

USAFRet

Titan
i’m new to toms hardware and have a question about modems and router. i have spectrum as my service provider, is it a good idea to get 3rd party hardware to replace the supplied ones that i get from spectrum? i want to get faster speed and better connection mainly. thank you.
What speed to you pay the ISP for?
What speed do you get when wired directly to the router?
What is the make/model of the router?

I would go to your spectrum store with your current equipment and they should exchange the old equipment for the newest they got.
That's what I did with mine!
Side note, we cut the cord and got rid of cable but kept the internet, without knowing to remove the cable splitters, our internet would go out and back on very randomly and it was due to the cable splitters still being installed. If you have an issue like that, that might be the cause.