Replaced motherboard factory OEM Dell Optiplex 9020

Oct 1, 2018
Background: During a thunder storm the power was interrupted momentarily.. actually it just sorta blinked.. and my Dell Optiplex 9020 no longer worked. I had it plugged into a surge protector that was plugged into another surge protector but somehow the power interruption seriously crashed my system. When turned on all that was present on the monitor was a line of code [I assume it was code since it appeared to be some unearthly alphabet & symbols] across the top. Not being a computer tech I guessed that my problem was my hard drive since I was saving data at the time. A new hybrid drive did not fix the problem. I then contacted Dell & was informed that the problem was either the power supply or the motherboard. Naturally I chose the less costly option & installed a new power supply... but the problem persisted. As a last resort I installed a new motherboard w/ new graphics card & reusing the 2 8gb ram modules from the old motherboard I was expecting success. But alas, all is not well in this household. Now the Dell Optiplex 9020 doesn't even turn on. All I get is an amber flashing power light. Please HELP!! I'm at my wits end.

Since you've replaced basically the whole computer I would try moving the system to another electrical outlet on an entirely separate circuit to see if the household wiring was damaged. Surge protectors are no substitute for an Auxillaty Power Supply. Did you replace the surge protectors? They may have sacrificed themselves. When you installed the new drive did you do a fresh install of the OS or did you clone the old HDD? An APS runs off of the battery all the time. It will bridge a power outage, a surge protector won't.

Oct 1, 2018