Replacing RAM module in a Dell Inspiron

karim434

Honorable
Dec 30, 2013
Hello!

I am a complete novice with computer hardware issues and I need some advice.

I am about to throw out a very old laptop computer, which stopped working years ago. I once upgraded the RAM of the machine, and the modules, to my knowledge, still work fine.

I have another laptop computer of around the same age, which still works. I want to know whether or not I can/should switch a RAM module from the broken laptop to the working one.

The broken laptop is a Dell Inspiron 8500, and has two RAM modules described as: Kingston - Memory - 1 GB - SO DIMM 200-pin - DDR - 266 MHz / PC2100 - unbuffered.

The working laptop is a Dell Inspiron 700m, and has one RAM module described as: ProMOS V826632B24SATG-C0 (256MB DDR PC2700 333MHz 200-pin SO DIMM).

My questions are: (1) would one of the memory modules of the 8500 be compatible with the 700m; and (2) if so, would the performance of the 700m be improved by replacing its RAM module with one of the ones from the 8500?

Please let me know if I need to provide more information to get answers to these questions.

Thanks in advance,

Karim

Solution

Hello,

1) They both support the same memory type - DDR SODIMM, but different speeds. 266MHz and 333MHz.
2)So, installing the 266 MHz along with 333 MHz will default both to 266 MHz.

There will be a performance upgrade, but a slight lower speed compared to the 333 MHz operating frequency.

http://www.memorystock.com/memory/DellInspiron700m.html

Solution

karim434

Honorable
Dec 30, 2013

Thanks algorithmbreaker, that's really helpful. I also only just realised that the Dell Inspiron 700m also has two RAM modules, so I would of course replace both of them.

If I could ask another novice question, following on from what you have said... is it worthwhile replacing the 256 MB modules with the 1 GB modules? I do not really know which is more important when it comes to RAM: speed or size.