Reusable parts from old PC for new PC build?

Some Soda

Reputable
Jun 17, 2014
Im thinking about building a new PC, but want to lower the cost as much as possible. To do that i want to reuse parts from my old PC but since im new to this i wonder what parts are actually worth reusing and if possible? Im mostly intrested in my CPU since its an i7 but im not sure if its useful for a modern gaming PC. My budget for my new PC is $700-$800 to be able to play most games at 1080p 60fps high settings. Also the RAM seems useful to recycle? Im not sure, any help would be appreciated ☺

My old pc: HP Pavilion HPE h8-1145sc

Solution
Does your system have the i7 2600? If so you could add a better video card and get better FPS. A 550 Ti is pretty week by today's standards. You could add a GTX 1050 Ti and get a nice boost.

Some Soda

Reputable
Jun 17, 2014
I want to play games at higher settings than i currently can with higher fps, loading times arent really a problem. My system cant handle 60fps on any of the newer games at anything above medium settings, and that is with a lot of other settings such as shadows disabled. Even in Overwatch do i need to turn off a lot of stuff for a steady 50fps.

caamsa

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2006
Does your system have the i7 2600? If so you could add a better video card and get better FPS. A 550 Ti is pretty week by today's standards. You could add a GTX 1050 Ti and get a nice boost.

Solution

caamsa

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2006
You can add a new video card. I have done that many times over the years. My current system has a gtx1060 and my cpu is a fx8320 which I am sure bottle necks it slightly. So my next build is going to probably be a RYZEN system since adding a new video card to my current system is not going to get me any more FPS. But my previous graphics card was a 7850 which was holding my cpu back a bit and when I added the gtx 1060 I got a nice boost. Good luck.