RGB fans? controllers? Connectors? please explain.

jm-april20

Commendable
Sep 27, 2018
So I saw this deal on newegg for 3 140mm RGB fans w/RGB LED controller:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103246

What I know:
I know RGB fans make a ton of colors by mixing red, green, blue by adjusting the amount of power going to each pin (red pin, green pin, blue pin) as well as that regular RGB fans need a 4 pin connector and ARGB fans need a 3 pin connector.

This is my motherboard:

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1422993-REG/msi_b450m_gaming_plus_motherboard.html

What I want to know:
How much power does the connector have? How much power do the RGB fans use? Can I use a splitter for the rgb? What role does the controller play and how does it work? Can the controller work as a splitter? will the header have enough power to power the conttroller and the fans?

I'm pretty new to rgb as well as pc building in general (having never built one) so if you could help it would be appreciated.

For anymore questions about my build, here it is:

https://pcpartpicker.com/guide/RxKH99/600-ryzen-gaming-pc

Solution
RGB fan controllers are usually powered by a Molex cable from the power supply. The number of controlled fans varies, but 4 - 6 fans is common. The RGB controller controls the fans and lights.

Alternatively many RGB lights and fans can be controlled by the RGB header on the motherboard.

Generally the RGB header is rated at about 2 amps (more or less the same for a regular fan header).

You will need to check the specific fans and lights for the exact header information .
RGB fan controllers are usually powered by a Molex cable from the power supply. The number of controlled fans varies, but 4 - 6 fans is common. The RGB controller controls the fans and lights.

Alternatively many RGB lights and fans can be controlled by the RGB header on the motherboard.