RGB strips compatibility

Jul 31, 2018
im new to pc builds, since i have some extra money i want to include RGB strips to my case, but i have no idea how do i set it up, i also think my motherboard is not compatible... no idea if a motherboard can posibly be uncompatible with RGB strips, sooo.... is mine compatible? how do i know if a motherboard is compatible? how do i set it up?

motherboard: Asus - PRIME B450M-A/CSM Micro ATX

thanks in advise, sorry for shit english

Solution
Yes. Check your manual here: http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/SocketAM4/PRIME_B450M-A/E14212_PRIME_B450M-A_UM_WEB.pdf

The Asus Prime B450M-A has 1x RGB header (see Page 1-3, Item #5):

"The RGB header supports 5050 RGB multi‑color LED strips (12V/G/R/B), with a maximum power rating of 3A (12V), and no longer than 3m."

Using this RGB header means you will be able to control RGB LED strips via Asus Sync software. So, it's advisable to shop for RGB strips that has the Asus Sync compatibility, if you want to setup and control such strips in that manner. Just make sure the strips are +12V with the max. ratings as specified above. There are strips that are only +5V and you cannot use those without damaging it, as the sole header...
Yes. Check your manual here: http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/SocketAM4/PRIME_B450M-A/E14212_PRIME_B450M-A_UM_WEB.pdf

The Asus Prime B450M-A has 1x RGB header (see Page 1-3, Item #5):

"The RGB header supports 5050 RGB multi‑color LED strips (12V/G/R/B), with a maximum power rating of 3A (12V), and no longer than 3m."

Using this RGB header means you will be able to control RGB LED strips via Asus Sync software. So, it's advisable to shop for RGB strips that has the Asus Sync compatibility, if you want to setup and control such strips in that manner. Just make sure the strips are +12V with the max. ratings as specified above. There are strips that are only +5V and you cannot use those without damaging it, as the sole header on your mobo only supports +12V.