News Rocket Lake Engineering Samples Benchmarked Against Zen 3

frogr

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2009
I suggest that you look over the original article on chiphell.
https://www.chiphell.com/thread-2290061-1-1.html
With PBO overclocking, the 5800x maintains its 10% lead over the 11900K ES overclocked at 4.3 GHz.

It also shows power consumption and temperature data. The author speculates: "... you are likely to be See the power consumption of the CPU above 300W, and then ascend to the sky with the fireworks from your motherboard. "

JfromNucleon

Prominent
Oct 5, 2020
We know the power consumption of the 9900k which is on the same process tech and same core count. Rocket Lake will only be worse due to it being a larger chip and possibly higher clocked.
I'm pretty new to this, so correct me if I'm wrong but wouldn't the new uarch help in terms of power consumption and heat?

spongiemaster

Admirable
Dec 12, 2019
We know the power consumption of the 9900k which is on the same process tech and same core count. Rocket Lake will only be worse due to it being a larger chip and possibly higher clocked.
Why are you picking the 9900k as your reference? The 10700k is measurably more efficient than the 9900k. With comparable clocks, I would expect the 11900k to draw more than the 10700k, but probably just bring it in line with the 9900k, while offering much better performance.

ottonis

Reputable
Jun 10, 2020
Rocket Lake engineering samples have been benchmarked against the AMD Ryzen 7 5700X and previous-gen Intel Core i7-10700 and i9-9900K.

Rocket Lake Engineering Samples Benchmarked Against Zen 3 : Read more

This is great news because it will heat up competition in the most relevant segment, which is the midfield of 6-8 core CPUs.