[SOLVED] ROG Strix LC GeForce RTX™ 3080 Ti in a Lian Li O11 DYNAMIC

BlazingSword

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2014
Hello Forum,
I will soon buy the 3080 Ti ROG Strix LC to upgrade from my 2080ti, which because of some weird problem that i could never solve (factory defect maybe?) would always power limit throttle at about 68% to 70%, giving in average roughly the same performance as a 1070, but i digress.

The issue is that since the new GPU is so tall including the water tubing, that it definitely won't fit in my case horizontally and I need to buy a vertical mount.
So can i just buy any vertical mount or should i go for the one made by Lian Li for my case? I have never used vertical mounts before and I don't know if i should worry about performance issues because of the mount.
Should i install the GPU radiator on the top of the case or is it fine if i install it on the bottom? Since i have 2 120mm fans installed on the bottom which i could swap for the radiator (will there even be any space for the radiator underneath the vertical gpu+mount)?
Depending on where to install it, would it be better to put the fans as intake or exhaust? I have a 360mm radiator for my CPU in the central space inside the case as an exhaust.

Or if there's anything else that i might be forgetting to consider that you may think of, i would greatly appreciate any info or suggestions.
Thanks in advance!

Solution
I can tackle a couple of these.
Should i install the GPU radiator on the top of the case or is it fine if i install it on the bottom? Since i have 2 120mm fans installed on the bottom which i could swap for the radiator (will there even be any space for the radiator underneath the vertical gpu+mount)?
Bottom mounted AIO radiator is a no-no, as the pump is inside the gpu shroud, air makes its way to the top of the loop, and the pump area should stay wet.
That leaves the top or the side... the top would be the most favorable, IMO.