[SOLVED] Router Is Far From Computer, What Are My Options?

Mar 26, 2020
I live in an apartment complex in Japan and my router is locked to the ethernet output in the apartment, which happens to be at the top of a closet in the back master bedroom. My computer is at the other end of the apartment, past a few rooms and walls along the way, and connecting via Wi-Fi with my current Wi-Fi adapter is impossible. Is my best course of action trying to run a 50ft Ethernet cable from the master bedroom along the ceiling or floor using some of those command tape cable strips? Or is there another option I'm missing that would be a better course of action? I'm not really tech savvy with what's out there to let me connect with a hardline.

Solution
I live in an apartment complex in Japan and my router is locked to the ethernet output in the apartment, which happens to be at the top of a closet in the back master bedroom. My computer is at the other end of the apartment, past a few rooms and walls along the way, and connecting via Wi-Fi with my current Wi-Fi adapter is impossible. Is my best course of action trying to run a 50ft Ethernet cable from the master bedroom along the ceiling or floor using some of those command tape cable strips? Or is there another option I'm missing that would be a better course of action? I'm not really tech savvy with what's out there to let me connect with a hardline.
You live in an apartment. There are dozens of WIFI signals competing...

kanewolf

Titan
You live in an apartment. There are dozens of WIFI signals competing. WIFI will NEVER be a good network method for you.
Is there any coax infrastructure in the apartment? If so, MoCA would be the recommendation. Otherwise powerline network adapters.
A WIFI extender as recommended above would be the last possible choice.

Solution