Question RX 580 GPU fan is not spinning

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chamuth

Reputable
Oct 28, 2016
chamuth.github.io
One day when I was playing RDR2 my AMD RX 580 4GB started spinning at 100% speed and started making this huge noise. Performance was pretty much the same. I shut down the game and tried the AMD settings to reset the fan speed it didn't worj, MSI after burner also didn't work. And then I started playing RDR2 ignoring the noise fir about 15 minutes and it stopped and returned to its normal RPM.

And again, yesterday it suddenly started spinning at 100% fan speed (around 4500 rpm) while I was working on a blender project (a small one, gpu usage would've been like 10%). It was extremely loud and didn't stop even after I restarted. It stayed at around 25degree. celsius on idle. Then I started playing Battlefield 1 to see if the change in gpu usage could actually fix it. It didn't change. In AMD settings VRAM usage was showing 220% around 9GB for this 4GB card I thought that was the reason for this fan speed. In task manager it showed 0.1GB out of 4GB

I tried MSI afterburner, AMDs default fan tuning settings and then I accidentally changed the VRAM timing method to second one and changed it back the screen turned green. And then I just blindly shut down the pc from keyboard shortcuts.

When booting up again the fans aren't working. Then again I tried MSI afterburner, AMD software and I tried DDU but it didn't fix. It would just stay around 60 degree Celsius on Idle.

Is there a possible cause to this? Any method to revert the GPU back to default. Btw MSI afterburner never worked for this gpu.

Hardware:
Intel Core i5 3470 3.2GHz
DDR3 1600MHz 8GB RAM
AMD RX 580 4GB
Foxconn H61 Mobo
Corsair something 700W PSU

Chamuth

Reputable
Oct 28, 2016
chamuth.github.io