Ryzen 2700X Idle Temperatures higher after adding more intake fans. Opinions on current temperatures appreciated!

daniel04894

Prominent
Nov 17, 2018
Hey guys! I believe it's my first time posting here. Before I go on with my question, here is some basic information relevant to the question at hand:

Case: Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Motherboard: MSI X470 Gaming M7 AC
CPU Cooler: Corsair H110i (not sure if it's the GT, or GTX version. I'm inclined to think it's the GT)
Replaced the stock Corsair fans (SP140L) with four ML140s in push-pull configuration.
My CPU Cooler is set up as Exhaust

Old Fan Setup:

Intake:

Front: Two 140MM, 74.5CFM each
Bottom: 1 140MM, 74.5 CFM

Exhaust:

Rear: Stock Phanteks Fan (I believe this one is 68.9CFM)
Top: Two ML140 (the ones on the radiator for the H110i), 97CFM Each.

Intake fans always set to max speed, Exhaust fans set by PWM based on CPU speed. Pump is set to "Extreme" (maximum speed) at all times.

Case pressure positive most of the time, except when the exhaust fans ramped up to max speed.

Fan Profile for Exhaust: 50% @ 30 degrees, up to 100% at 70 degrees. (A little aggressive, considering these CPUs are fine up to 85 degrees)

Previously: Idle temps would drop as low as 29.2 Degrees, temperatures under load (10-15 minutes of Prime95) would go up to 62-63 degrees.

One thing that bothered me slightly was that the bottom fan is right under the two front intake fans. not sure if that matters, but it's something. They are where the HDD cages are normally located.

Because of how the Enthoo Luxe is designed, the bulk of intake air was focused around the lower half of the motherboard and the PSU area. That is, from the GPU and upwards (CPU area) there is no direct intake air going over those components.