[SOLVED] Ryzen 3 3100 or Ryzen 5 2600

serjj

Reputable
Apr 6, 2019
Hi everyone, planning to upgrade from my 2200g, which processor should I buy in these two? They are roughly the same price if I buy them in my country, I was thinking of the 2600 but I actually don't do edits that much, I also mostly play CSGO and other esports titled games.

Note: The 3300x isn't available in my country and my budget is also very limited as I am only a student.

Solution
If the 3100 and 2600 are similar prices for you, id reccomend going for the 2600.

They may have similar performance on becnhmarks, but having those extra 2 cores will give your build MUCH more versatility, even if its something as simple as having background apps running while your gaming (web browser open, spotify on, recording gaming sessions, streaming) all those experiences will be much smoother on 6 cores than 4 cores.

Also, certain games are more CPU intensive and will benefit more from more cores than better single core performance. A great example is MSFS2020. This game is super CPU intensive and really shines as you add more cores.

It really depends on what you wanna do with the build, but id seriously push for the 2600...
The Ryzen 3100 has better single core performance, and with 4/8 it is still more than enough for those type of light intensity games, or even very CPU intensive games. Consider, my 6700k still does a pretty admirable job when it comes to gaming, although I do plan to upgrade soon, and the 3100 has the same 4/8 cores/threads as what that has, so it's not far off from that kind of single core performance and actually has better threaded performance. Coming from the 2200g, it should be a pretty fair upgrade for the price.

Aeacus

Titan
Ambassador
R5 2600 and R3 3100 have equal performance and it doesn't matter which one,
comparison: https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/AMD-Ryzen-5-2600-vs-AMD-Ryzen-3-3100/3955vsm1148404