Question Ryzen 7 5700G Build: Fans spin but no display out

Jan 5, 2022
I purchased the following parts to build a PC that I would use almost exclusively for software development. The parts I got are:
  • CPU/APU: AMD Ryzen 7 5700G
  • Mobo: Gigabyte Aorus B550i Pro AX
  • RAM: Team TForce Vulcan Z 64GB 3600MHz
  • Cooler: MasterLiquid ML240L v2 RGB
  • Storage: Crucial P5 2TB
  • PSU: Corsair SF 450 Gold
I installed the RAM, Storage, CPU and used the box cooler just to get it started before building in the case. I shorted the power pins and the CPU fan spins up but no display out.
I have tried
  • removing and reseating the RAM, CPU, Storage, 24pin and CPU power connectors
  • moving the RAM sticks around
  • removing one RAM stick and using just one in each slot
  • switching from HDMI to the DP port
I live in Nigeria and this is my first build (and with what I have experienced so far, probably my last), I don't have any other RAM sticks, PSU's or CPUs to test with. A colleague of mine helped upgrade the BIOS on the Mobo to F14 before shipping to me so the BIOS is updated.
What else can I do to get the build working knowing the constraints I face?

Thanks

natcha12

Honorable
Sep 1, 2015
Did the cooler or cpu come with paste to use? Did you use it?

A cpu can literally run at double the normal temperature or more without paste

...Oh, and was anything second hand?

Zerk2012

Titan
Ambassador
I purchased the following parts to build a PC that I would use almost exclusively for software development. The parts I got are:
  • CPU/APU: AMD Ryzen 7 5700G
  • Mobo: Gigabyte Aorus B550i Pro AX
  • RAM: Team TForce Vulcan Z 64GB 3600MHz
  • Cooler: MasterLiquid ML240L v2 RGB
  • Storage: Crucial P5 2TB
  • PSU: Corsair SF 450 Gold
I installed the RAM, Storage, CPU and used the box cooler just to get it started before building in the case. I shorted the power pins and the CPU fan spins up but no display out.
I have tried