Question Ryzen 9 7900x high temps

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dec 21, 2022
Hey everyone new to the forum. I just finished a new build with a ryzen 9 7900x paired with the corsair h150i AIO. Temps are holding steady at 95-98c at just idle which was worrisome so I jumped on Google and that was a rabbit hole with answers in all directions. Can anyone confirm that this is a safe and normal temp? One then I did notice is when I started playing a game...there was zero fluctuation in temps...stayed at the same 95-98c. Any advice/input is appreciated thank you!

Dec 21, 2022
include the rest of the system specs
along with the case(and a link to it), fan make & models, and the fans' locations and orientation.

Case: Antec Dark League DF800 FLUX (link below)
Mobo: gigabyte b650 elite ax
CPU: Ryzen 9 7900x
CPU Cooler: corsair h150i elite (360mm 3 fan) located on top of case
RAM: 64GB (16x4) DDR5 5200
GPU: RX 3070Ti
Fans- 3 intake on front - 1 exhaust on rear (not sure on brand - included with case) and 3 fans on radiator as mentioned above

https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E168111...m_mmc=snc-social-_-sr-_-11-129-280-_-12212022

ryzen 9 7900x paired with the corsair h150i AIO. Temps are holding steady at 95-98c at just idle

the allowed airflow of the case and the fan setup along with this AiO cooler should be able to keep the 7900X at decent temperatures at the least.

this CPU is known to run hotter than your average higher class series but anywhere near 90°C @ idle is crazy.
the fact that temperatures do not fluctuate while even gaming leads me to believe something else is going on.
include a screenshot of Task Manager while it is supposed to be idling.

also what are you using to monitor CPU temp?
and what temperatures does the GPU idle and max out while gaming?

do you have Gigabyte control software installed for custom fan profiles?
if not, you may want to try that with all case fan speeds ranging from ~50%rpm @ 30°C - 90%rpm @ 60°C.