Ryzen won't boot after overclock

TheBackBreak

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2016
Hello people of the internet, I have a problem with my PC I hope you could help me solve. I am kinda bad at explaining and it is hard to tell all the attempts I made to fix this. I am able to upload a video of the failed boot and I will clarify any questions you have about it if needed.

Last week I upgraded my system from an ancient cpu, to a Ryzen 1200 with a b350 tomahawk and some Patriot signature series (2x4gb) RAM @ 2133mhz.

First boot was fine other than the regular problems of long boot time and loud fans it was going okay. I got into windows and messed around doing some stress tests and installing new drivers, etc.

Then I decided it was time to overclock, after watching a few videos I went into the bios; to start I did a starting overclock of 3.8 and it worked! Then I bumped it up to 3.9 and this is where my problem starts, though I am new to overclocking I think this issue is strange, when turning on the fans spin up and so do the hard drive however it doesn’t post. The power button works only when held and it can be restarted into this stage if turned off and on. When pressing the reset button though the Cpu ezdebug light turn on, after you release the button the dram light turns on and the cpu light stays on for ~5 sec before they both turning off.

The only way to get it to boot is by holding the power button to turn it off and clearing the cmos. I then returned to the 3.8 where it didn’t work. Then 3.7, no dice. Then 3.6, yes. Then stock, yes. Then 3.8, yes.

After this failed overclock I tried upping the voltage, changing the clock, and it usually results in this odd state of not booting with this weird led thing.

No combination of clock or voltage or anything gets me above 3.875 and even then sometimes when rebooting or doing a cold boot it will go into this state and need to be cleared. I have run adia64 and prime 95 and it seems to be stable when it actually boots.