Safe over clocking for i7 8700K

n_g_c_3

Commendable
Jun 18, 2016
I'm fairly new to over clocking and am wondering if 5ghz is safe for my cpu. This rig is mainly converting and editing video and audio files, just want it to be as fast as it can.

MB- MSI Z370 Gaming M5
CPU- i7 8700K stock 3.7ghz
GPU- Gigabyte GTX 1050
Ram- 16gb Gskill

Idle temp is around 25c
Running at 100% never goes above 50c

It is currently locked at 3.7ghz @ 1.024V

UPDATE-

So I've looked into it a bit more, ran some CPU-Z tests, and found what it's doing.

Under full load the VCore drops to 1.288 from 1.304. The frequency is constantly changing, but always staying in the 5020 MHz (meaning it never hits 5019 or 5030), it doesn't change under full load. Temps stop at 73/74c. I haven't had any issues with crashing, freezing, performance drops, etc. I just want to be sure my system is stable.

Solution
How high you can oc a 8700K is determined by your luck in getting a good chip.
as of 3/22/2018
What % of I7-8700k chips can oc
at a aggressive vcore near 1.4 or so and delidded
4.9 99%
5.0 88%
5.1 54%
5.2 22%

Not the delidded caveat. That allows the processor to be cooled better.

Raise your multiplier gradually.
Monitor your vcore with cpu-Z. Do not let vcore get to 1.4 or perhaps a bit less.

Keep your stress test temperatures limited to 85c.

Implement speedstep and adaptive voltage.
That will lower your multiplier and vcore when there is little to do.

n_g_c_3

Commendable
Jun 18, 2016

I have the Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo and like I mentioned, it keeps it fairly cool compared to other air cooled 8700K temps I've seen. Do you have any recommendations for guides I could use as reference?

How high you can oc a 8700K is determined by your luck in getting a good chip.
as of 3/22/2018
What % of I7-8700k chips can oc
at a aggressive vcore near 1.4 or so and delidded
4.9 99%
5.0 88%
5.1 54%
5.2 22%

Not the delidded caveat. That allows the processor to be cooled better.