News Samsung quietly launches 61.44TB SSD, talks about a 122.88TB model

Greg7579

Commendable
Jun 11, 2022
I am a photographer and use 8TB SSDs - not in an array, but individually. I need at least 12 TB and 16 would be great. I have several 8TB Samsung SATA SSDs (those are getting cheaper and are slow, but still 4 times faster than spinning rust) and 2 or 3 very expensive 8TB PCIE 4 M.2 SSDs.
I am shocked that there is not more demand for some higher capacity SSDs. I predicted 3 years ago that by now we would have 16 TB PCIe 4 M.2 SSDs for less than 400 bucks. Boy was I wrong. We are stuck in the mud at 8TB.

Reactions: Sluggotg and Rdslw
Jul 4, 2024
Samsung? Hard pass. I wouldn't pay $20, and even then, I wouldn't trust any data storage for more than a year. Samsung products are typically buggy with poor firmware and worse support. Samsung products are prone to failure within 2-3 years in my experience, doesn't matter whether it's a TV, smartphone, SSD, or HDD. YMMV but I doubt it will.

wawaplanets

Prominent
Aug 22, 2023
Samsung? Hard pass. I wouldn't pay $20, and even then, I wouldn't trust any data storage for more than a year. Samsung products are typically buggy with poor firmware and worse support. Samsung products are prone to failure within 2-3 years in my experience, doesn't matter whether it's a TV, smartphone, SSD, or HDD. YMMV but I doubt it will.
You made an account 20 minutes ago to write this comment lol. You are so demonstrably wrong and an obvious troll. Leave.

Greg7579

Commendable
Jun 11, 2022
That is not even remotely true. Samsung makes great products (especially TVs, refrigerators, SSDs, tablets, etc. You are being pretty obvious there.