Samsung SSD 960 evo M.2 install grief!

bootalasie

Reputable
Sep 10, 2017
Hello all....

I've hit a brick wall in my first ever build. Any help would be very much appreciated....

Installed all parts and powered up into BIOS fine but was confused by the lack of detection of the SSD NVMe M.2 drive. Researched various forums to what BIOS settings to use (turn off csm, make sure mobo in uefi mode etc). All to no avail.
Next thought was maybe divers needed before the ssd could be seen. Used rufus to copy an image of win10 64bit onto a flash drive and downloaded the samsung driver onto a separate flash drive and booted up. No SSD recognized in the install procedure and a driver asked for. No driver found on the flash drive (defiantly on there tho)

Im basically a newbie on builds this being my first one but im not a complete novice. From the research i've done i understand these M.2 NVMe drives are a little fickle but the MoBo literature reads as ready to virtually plug and play. As in uefi mode is the only mode, set up for multiple GPUs etc. Or are these m.2 drive a pain in general???

Mobo: ASRock H110 Pro (BIOS version 1.10)
http://www.asrock.com/MB/Intel/H110%20Pro%20BTC+/index.asp
Processor: Celeron 3930
GPU: Asus 1070 GTX
Ram: 8g ddr4

mikeny

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2006
Just had this issue. I reseated the NVMe and downloaded the Samsung 960 driver on a thumb drive. Flash BIOS first to latest. When you get to the spotbwhrre it asks to Install Windows, see if it shows rhe NVMe but if not put the usb stick in with the Samsung Driver and click driver

bootalasie

Reputable
Sep 10, 2017

Thanks Mike,

Tried the resetting thing. BIOS is on the only version available. And when when clicking on install driver when asked by windows install, no driver found on the stick (Is there tho. Downloaded off samsung website)

bootalasie

Reputable
Sep 10, 2017

so the samsung evo 960 is PCIe and i need sata? This mobo is fussier than i thought..... Any recommendations?

USAFRet