SATA HD/MB BIOS settings questions

PCDumb

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2007
First let me say Hello. I'm new to PC building and find myself having a heck of a time getting all the answers I search for so let me get to it. This is driving me nuts. I am trying to figure out what settings I need in my BIOS (Gigabyte P35-DS3P Rev. 2.O) to enable the SATA HDs (Seagate 250GB SATAs) to perform at their maximum potential. I've heard the benchmarks for SATA HDDs using RAID/AHCI are not that much different than running them in IDE emulation. If that's the case then I will just do a normal install but if the actual speed of data transfer is slower w/it in IDE then I want to configure it to RAID and use the SATA advantages.

Now, apparently Intel suggests setting the BIOS to RAID to take full advantage of SATA's capability but the manual for my MB doesn't explain how to do a semi-RAID configuration (I have no intention of setting up a RAID array). Here are the questions I have:
1)What particular BIOS setting(s) do I manipulate and what drivers do I install at F6 before setting up Windows XP Home?
2)If the MB DVD has all the drivers on it, wouldn't I then be able to install the drivers without the use of the floppy drive? All the drivers won't fit on 1 floppy so I need to know specifically which one needs to be installed to support the semi-RAID configuration Intel talks about.
3)Most importantly, am I wasting time and energy worrying about it or will IDE emulation provide the same or close to the same performance as RAID/AHCI? What is the advantage of setting BIOS/installing RAID drivers to RAID/AHCI?

I will give the list of drivers and maybe someone much smarter than I can point out the culprit(s). I have 6 onboard SATA ports, 4 controlled by the ICH9R and 2 controlled by the Gigabyte controller but which one is for the ICH9R controlled ports?

Here's a link to the manual for the board as well. http://www.gigabyte-usa.com/Support/...l&FileID=18063