Sata hdd not detected in bios

aztec_scribe

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2010
Hello
I've installed a hd4890 on my asus 780i Nvidia motherboard and now my HDD (which are sata) are not showing up in bios. When I reinstall my old 9600gt they reappear. Any suggestions?

aztec_scribe

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2010
To add a little more detail. My mobo is a Asus pn5-t deluxe, Bios 101 (I'll have to double check tonight though). It almost looks as if the hd 4890 stops my sata connections from working!
My suspicion is it's to do with the mobo being for nvidia and the card being ATI! But I'm no expert.

jedimasterben

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2007

Uh, no. That's not how that works.

Does your power supply have enough power to run that card? Comparing a 9600 and a 4890 is like a housecat to a lion. It requires a lot more power.

What are the rest of your specs, power supply make and model included?

aztec_scribe

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2010
I understand it's not how it's meant to work but seeing as the motherboard passes post with the card installed then after fails to detect my two HDD I was of the assumption that perhaps the BIOS was unable to recognise the RV790 chip on the 4890 and some how that confused the south bridge and hay presto my sata's die a death.

But of course this is all crazy gesticulation on my part.

I've got a 800w Hi-power psu, this one in fact:
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/135197

I've also got a C2D E6750
4GB ocz 1066
and my HDD's are two seagate 250gb

Help please!!

aztec_scribe

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2010
Ok I started by suspecting it was my BIOS or one of my drivers causing a problem. I didn't really want to clear my BIOS down at first so I tried reinstalling my SATA drivers (didn't work), my chipset drivers (didn't work) and then I re flashed my BIOS to an older version, by the way I was on 1501 and have now gone to 1401 (didn't work). I also (before downgrading) cleared my BIOS by removing the battery.