Scared to leave Mac, but wanna game

Status
Not open for further replies.

tech-illiterate

Honorable
Apr 30, 2013
I have no real tech knowledge or confidence to speak of. I have been using the same MacBook for the past 7 years. I want to do some light gaming (Minecraft, DOTA, Civ 5, Red Alert 3) and feel that I would need something more than the intel 4000 integrated video card, but can't afford to go with the MacBook Pro 15' which has the Nividia...

Any suggestions?

Solution
So, If you have any suggestions for PC's or steps to take to protect a PC from all the crap online or just getting slow I would greatly appreciate it!

The virus/malware "issue" on Windows is overblown by non-Windows users. Sure, it is the most dangerous system for viruses and malware, but you can install a couple of relatively non-intrusive programs to easily combat that. In my opinion, it really isn't worth it to spend $1500 on a gaming computer, especially a Mac since games on Macs are very limited. For the same price, you could build a custom computer that would rip through any software you threw at it. But in the end, if you want to stick with Apple then you're limited to the choices they offer, which means chances are that...

joe_newbuilder

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2011

All modern Macs can be dual booted so that they can run windows as well as the mac OS.
I currently have windows8 running as well as osx. Even a 13" macbook had enough power to run many of the games you mentioned.

c_for

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2010
I can't say much for the other games mentioned but Civ 5 is light on the GPU but hard on the CPU. If you use maps any larger than small be prepared for a decent amount of time between turns. In my desktop i'm running a 3570k with a decent air cooler and a case ambient of about 24C. I'm still running about 30 seconds between turns on standard in the late game.

tech-illiterate

Honorable
Apr 30, 2013
Thanks for your responses!