Scratch Building my Computer

G

Hello,
Soon I will be undertaking a project of custom building a computer. I've never done it before so, I don't know how to perform a few of the actions necessary to get the computer working. I will be using the following hardware. I have not purchased the hardware yet so any suggestions are
welcome.

Asus A7V motherboard. AMD Athlon/Thunderbird, Socket A, 1 GHz CPU. Western Digital 40 gig, 7200 RPM hard drive. Creative Labs SoundBlaster Live! Value PCI. 3Com 56k V.90 internal PCI Performance Pro FaxModem. Creative Labs 52x
CD-ROM. Altec Lansing ACS45.2 speakers. Microsoft Natural Elite keyboard. Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer, optical mouse. 128 meg PC133 SDRAM from Crucial. Addtronics 6890a case with 300w power supply. Creative Labs Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32meg DDR AGP video card. A ViewSonic 19” PF790 monitor. I will be running Windows 98 SE on this machine. I have that on CD.

I don't know the order in which I should install the components. I know how to install all the hardware. I've done most of it before. But, tips are still welcome. I need detailed help in what is done after the hardware is
assembled. I have never touched BIOS in my life nor have I installed an OS. If I am going to need help in order to undertake this project.

Thank you for whatever help you can provide me with.

Mark Fitzsimmons

JOJO

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
i have similar system (a7v with 800 mhz t-bird)
i'm sure you will be very happy once you have it all together.

a few things to remember...

1. get a good heat sink/fan for your chip.. ie hedgehog...or have a look on this forum for another one that is good.

2. bios is very easy to set up especially in jumper free mode... but, with the sound blaster live! value (what I have) there is a special setting you need to change in the bios, has to do with the setting up irq's and stuff, more info about it at www.asus.com