Sculpting Steel

Tim

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2004
1,833
0
19,780
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

I have an isochron scepter in play with a Terminate imprinted on it. If my opponent
casts Sculpting Steel, choosing the Scepter, what (in effect) happens?

Does the opponent's Sculpting Steel come into play with terminate already imprinted
on it, or will it come into play as an exact copy of the scepter "card" - for eg.
with the option for the opponent to imprint an instant of his own?

Isochron Scepter
2
Artifact
Imprint - When Isochron Scepter comes into play, you may remove an instant card with
converted mana cost 2 or less in your hand from the game. (The removed card is
imprinted on this artifact.)
2, T: You may copy the imprinted instant card and play the copy without paying its
mana cost.

Terminate
BR
Instant
Destroy target creature. It can't be regenerated.

Sculpting Steel
3
Artifact
As Sculpting Steel comes into play, you may choose an artifact in play. If you do,
Sculpting Steel comes into play as a copy of that artifact.


TIA,

Tim
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Tim <XX@nah.com> wrote:

> I have an isochron scepter in play with a Terminate imprinted on it. If
> my opponent casts Sculpting Steel, choosing the Scepter, what (in effect)
> happens?
>
> Does the opponent's Sculpting Steel come into play with terminate already
> imprinted on it, or will it come into play as an exact copy of the scepter
> "card" - for eg. with the option for the opponent to imprint an instant of
> his own?

Copy effects only copy characteristics. Rules text, such as "When
Isochron Scepter comes into play, ...." is a characteristic. An
imprinted card is not a characteristic.
--
Daniel W. Johnson
panoptes@iquest.net
http://members.iquest.net/~panoptes/
039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Wed, 20 Apr 2005 12:52:39 +1000, Tim <XX@nah.com> wrote:
>I have an isochron scepter in play with a Terminate imprinted on it. If my opponent
>casts Sculpting Steel, choosing the Scepter, what (in effect) happens?

The Steel comes into play as a copy of the Scepter card. This means, among
other things, that it has the text of the Scepter card, including its
triggered comes-into-play Imprint ability... which triggers in the usual
fashion and allows him to remove a card in his hand from the game, in the usual
way.

It does NOT "copy the Terminate card imprinted on the original" in any way;
it also does NOT allow opponent to somehow remove a card in YOUR hand from
the game.

>Does the opponent's Sculpting Steel come into play with terminate already imprinted
>on it,

Why would it do so? That's not part of the copiable characteristics. A card's
characteristics do not include "and there is this other card here, in another
zone, that one of my abilities removed". And SS doesn't say "comes into play
as a copy of that card plus it copies all cards imprinted on that card".

>or will it come into play as an exact copy of the scepter "card" - for eg.
>with the option for the opponent to imprint an instant of his own?

The opponent will get the option to Imprint an Instant card of his own. The
opponent will not get to "piggyback" on your Terminate.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.