Selecting a Router for my small business

Koz77

Honorable
Jan 6, 2014
I am in need of a new router as my current one (Linksys WR120N) is failing. This is the third one in three years and I would like to replace it with something that will last and possibly perform better.

My site has 6 computers that are wired. 2 of those act as servers. We have 3 laptops on site. 2 wireless access points. 6 printers. We have a static Ip. We are considering adding a security system with cameras (not sure if that matters). We do have one off site user.

I am not experienced in networking and would appreciate any help provided. If more info is needed, please let me know.

Solution
You said that you already have separate wireless access points, correct? Then you don't need to specifically have a wireless capable router, since that can be handled by your access points.

Given the growth that you are looking at to be able to allow remote users access and possibly adding a security system (separate network ideally) I would recommend a true business class router or firewall which will allow you many more features for control plus give you multiple networks or VLANs to work with. I personally have installed and used Sonicwall TZ 105 firewalls at numerous small business offices like yours including my own office. They are great value given all the features that you can get with it and low price point. Much more...

RealBeast

Titan
What is your budget and are you trying to use consumer routers that are cheap or are you willing to spend a substantial amount for a commercial grade router?

The Linksys WR120N is a relatively poor router even by consumer standards, nowhere near the quality of an ASUS RT-N56U router that is also a consumer quality router but far more stable and cheaper.

Koz77

Honorable
Jan 6, 2014