Question Separate the front and rear panel audio on my PC?

mrbear2899

Reputable
May 25, 2017
14
1
4,515
0
I can't figure out how to separate the front and rear panel audio on my PC. I've tried updating the Realtek audio drivers and it didn't change the Audio Console. This is what I see when I select the Device Advanced Settings option. I'm using Windows 10 with a Ryzen 3 3200 CPU and a Biostar B450MH Motherboard.
 

Ralston18

Titan
Moderator
So what exactly what are you trying to do?

For example: send one audio track to speakers and a different audio track to headphones? From two different apps perhaps?

Talk on Zoom with headphones to listen while playing music via speakers in your area - something like that?
 

mrbear2899

Reputable
May 25, 2017
14
1
4,515
0
So what exactly what are you trying to do?

For example: send one audio track to speakers and a different audio track to headphones? From two different apps perhaps?

Talk on Zoom with headphones to listen while playing music via speakers in your area - something like that?
What I would like to do is be able to listen through one set of headphones when I'm on, then switch it in windows to the other pair that's plugged in when I get off. I have two pairs of headphones, one that fits me fine and another that my partner likes to use more.
 

Ralston18

Titan
Moderator
I suggest using an audio switch.

For example (not a recommendation or endorsement):

Audio Switch Example

You can easily find other similar products by googling "audio speaker switches" and then revising the search criteria as necessary for your requirements.

https://bestgamingpro.com/audio-speaker-switches/

One immediate caveat: not all plugs and ports are created "equal". There are standards (TR, TRS, TRRS) for the physical connections to be made.

FYI:

https://www.cablechick.com.au/blog/understanding-trrs-and-audio-jacks/

Be sure that all match correctly.
 

mrbear2899

Reputable
May 25, 2017
14
1
4,515
0
I suggest using an audio switch.

For example (not a recommendation or endorsement):

Audio Switch Example

You can easily find other similar products by googling "audio speaker switches" and then revising the search criteria as necessary for your requirements.

https://bestgamingpro.com/audio-speaker-switches/

One immediate caveat: not all plugs and ports are created "equal". There are standards (TR, TRS, TRRS) for the physical connections to be made.

FYI:

https://www.cablechick.com.au/blog/understanding-trrs-and-audio-jacks/

Be sure that all match correctly.
There's no way to get the functionality to change it in the audio panel of windows 10 again? That was the way I did it before but it doesn't do it now, I really would like that back as I have little space for an audio switcher on my desk.
 

Ralston18

Titan
Moderator
Perhaps something like the following links (not a software recommendation or endorsement):

https://www.cnet.com/tech/computing/easily-switch-audio-devices-on-windows/

https://www.groovypost.com/howto/manage-audio-devices-in-windows-10/

You can easily google for similar links and revise the search criteria as necessary for your requirements.

Will need to defer to those who have actually used the above software with regards to the software's applicability, practicality, and user friendliness.

But it does appear that you have software options to try and to test.
 

mrbear2899

Reputable
May 25, 2017
14
1
4,515
0
Perhaps something like the following links (not a software recommendation or endorsement):

https://www.cnet.com/tech/computing/easily-switch-audio-devices-on-windows/

https://www.groovypost.com/howto/manage-audio-devices-in-windows-10/

You can easily google for similar links and revise the search criteria as necessary for your requirements.

Will need to defer to those who have actually used the above software with regards to the software's applicability, practicality, and user friendliness.

But it does appear that you have software options to try and to test.
The problem isn't so much switching, as it is that windows is detecting both of the headsets as one device. It's not letting me separate them into front and rear, it's only one audio playback system for some reason.
 

mrbear2899

Reputable
May 25, 2017
14
1
4,515
0

Ralston18

Titan
Moderator
I remember seeing couple of links that mentioned the option to do that being removed.

Probably what has happened in your situation.

There were also a couple of links that suggested using code to toggle the output. May or may not be viable in your situation. And, even if viable, some other update in the OS or audio drivers could completely undo the "fix". And those cmdlets, etc. likely took advantage of being able to have two distinct audio output paths to begin with.

For example (old thread) regarding Powershell's Set-AudioDevice

https://darkball.net/2018/03/change-audio-output-with-powershell-in-windows-10/

If you are interested in that sort of solution then google:

"select audio output powershell"

Still, again, all may be moot if the system cannot or does not simultaneously allow different audio outputs to front and rear audio ports.

Agree there is a certain appeal in having your music sent to one set of headphones via one audio port and being able to switch the output to the other audio port to use the second set of headphones. All without the need to physically unplug and plug in any headphones.

Understand that you do not have room for a switch. But there is still a simple low tech solution - one that I have used to switch between headphones and speakers.

Configure and send the audio output to the audio port of your choice. Plug in a 3.5 mm (1/8") M - F audio extension cable into the chosen audio port and place the other end of the extension cable somewhere easy to access on the desk. Then just plug in which ever set of headphones is to be used into the audio extension cable. I used a 15' (5 meter) cable just to allow extra freedom of movement.

Swapping headphones just takes a couple of seconds and avoids extra hardware, code, etc.. Just be sure that you match audio pinouts (TR, TRS, TRRS) between extension cable and headphones.
 

mrbear2899

Reputable
May 25, 2017
14
1
4,515
0
I remember seeing couple of links that mentioned the option to do that being removed.

Probably what has happened in your situation.

There were also a couple of links that suggested using code to toggle the output. May or may not be viable in your situation. And, even if viable, some other update in the OS or audio drivers could completely undo the "fix". And those cmdlets, etc. likely took advantage of being able to have two distinct audio output paths to begin with.

For example (old thread) regarding Powershell's Set-AudioDevice

https://darkball.net/2018/03/change-audio-output-with-powershell-in-windows-10/

If you are interested in that sort of solution then google:

"select audio output powershell"

Still, again, all may be moot if the system cannot or does not simultaneously allow different audio outputs to front and rear audio ports.

Agree there is a certain appeal in having your music sent to one set of headphones via one audio port and being able to switch the output to the other audio port to use the second set of headphones. All without the need to physically unplug and plug in any headphones.

Understand that you do not have room for a switch. But there is still a simple low tech solution - one that I have used to switch between headphones and speakers.

Configure and send the audio output to the audio port of your choice. Plug in a 3.5 mm (1/8") M - F audio extension cable into the chosen audio port and place the other end of the extension cable somewhere easy to access on the desk. Then just plug in which ever set of headphones is to be used into the audio extension cable. I used a 15' (5 meter) cable just to allow extra freedom of movement.

Swapping headphones just takes a couple of seconds and avoids extra hardware, code, etc.. Just be sure that you match audio pinouts (TR, TRS, TRRS) between extension cable and headphones.
Firstly, I know that windows supports this, as I did it on my previous pc. Second, this should not be this difficult. What do I need to do, pay someone my life's savings to fix this god forsaken piece of [Moderator edit to remove profanity. Remember that this is a family friendly forum.] pc? I also would not like to get an extension cable, because my pc doesn't have the trrs connector on it, so it would be useless whenever I wanted to use my mic that plugs into my headset. I would have to unplug the cable, plug in the headset and mic, then do whatever I wanted to do with it in the first place.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

hang-the-9

Titan
Moderator
Sounds like you want to just have two separate headphones connected at the same time, is that right? What headphones exactly? Not having the 4 pole connector does not really change things, you can get adapters for that easily and use a simple splitter cable.

This cable will take dual 4 pole headsets and send it to one output, then use a 4 pole to dual 3 pole adapter off that to go to the computer https://www.amazon.com/KEPULU-Headphone-ProAudioLine-Strong-Braided-Audio/dp/B08N148TCQ/ref=sxin_13_pa_sp_search_thematic_sspa?cv_ct_cx=4+pole+audio+splitter&dchild=1&keywords=4+pole+audio+splitter&pd_rd_i=B08N148TCQ&pd_rd_r=6b901ba2-26fd-4de5-a26e-85fe6a3282db&pd_rd_w=0PCDe&pd_rd_wg=BWUEo&pf_rd_p=223a47dc-bb00-4156-be50-d6ca802a37dd&pf_rd_r=G1FMD8TN66CBCP4MHF6A&qid=1632019377&sr=1-4-a73d1c8c-2fd2-4f19-aa41-2df022bcb241-spons&psc=1&spLa=ZW5jcnlwdGVkUXVhbGlmaWVyPUEyNDJZSTQ0VzdUREJRJmVuY3J5cHRlZElkPUEwMjU2Njc2MThWWlA1Nkw2TDZWViZlbmNyeXB0ZWRBZElkPUEwNDkxNDgwMTBSTDY5M1NTMEE4UyZ3aWRnZXROYW1lPXNwX3NlYXJjaF90aGVtYXRpYyZhY3Rpb249Y2xpY2tSZWRpcmVjdCZkb05vdExvZ0NsaWNrPXRydWU=

Connecting a normal 3 pole headphone to that should just get you the normal audio to that also.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS