Server & storage solutions for small design studio

Oct 16, 2018
Hi folks. I'm just an artist with very limited knowledge of servers and networking stuffs. So I'm wondering if anyone would be kind enough to recommend possible network/server /storage set ups for a small studio of about 4 -to- 12 artists.? We'll mostly be doing computer graphics(3d/broadcast) and rendering with occasional video editing utilizing off the shelf tools from Autodesk and Adobe. We don't want to go above 10 grand for this server/storage budget starting out from scratch(4 artists with maybe 10 terabyte of working space) if this is even doable(?). Any advice would be very much appreciated. Apologies in advance if I could not reply in timely manner since I don't frequent this community often. Thanks again.
Cheers!
Ron

asoroka

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2009
You need to detail your requirements.

So 10 TB of storage is no problem.

What kind of network. wireless or wired? You will need to get professional cabling which is not cheap, your insurance may not cover you if someone trips over a loose cable. So if you can, use wireless unless your office is already wired.

I assume that you will be doing your computational work on individual workstations, or did you envision a powerful shared application server?

So for network sizing you will need to know how much data is going to flow between each node in your network.

At the very least you will need a good wireless router $300AUD
a storage device (Synology DS418 DiskStation 4-Bay NAS + 2 10TB disks mirrored) $1500AUD

Printer?

What about data backup (a few USB drives?)

What will you run your software on?

I recommend separating storage from any computational servers

Oct 16, 2018
Thanks for replying to this.

You are right, we do intend to keep computation on the individual machines
- coffeelake/ryzen/nvidia.

So this server (if that's even the correct term) is for fast reading and writing of images mostly. Or should it be called storage?