[SOLVED] Setting up custom fan profile - Need help

katulen

Reputable
Apr 22, 2019
Hi,

TLDR: I am a rookie, and need some help setting up a proper fan profile for my system.

When I got my system back 10 months ago, there was already tinkered a bit with fan control.
I have since then updated BIOS and that have reset everything. I have tinkered a bit with CAM software myself, however, I have read that it is better to setup your fans through BIOS.
I had a look, and didn't exactly know what I was looking at. I have read that its best to use PWM mode, but it also means that the fan has to be connected with a 4 pin or such.

Anyway, I need some help setting up a good fan profile for my system, here is my specs:

i7 9700K
NZXT Kraken x72
Asus Strix Z390-F GAMING
Asus Strix RTX2070
Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB: 2x8GB DDR4 3000MHz
Samsung 970 EVO Plus MZ-V7S500BW 500GB (NVMe) - M.2 Card
Toshiba P300 3.5´´ 2TB - 7200rpm 64MB SATA-600
Corsair RM750x
NZXT H series H700i Window Black

Intake:
3x 120 NZXT fans front.
Exhaust: 3x 120 NZXT fans on rad & 1x 140 NZXT back.

I noticed a few things in BIOS I didnt quite understand. Such as "Ext. Fans" & "Chassis Fans", which is which.
Also noticed WATER PUMP & AIO PUMP - Didnt know which to change settings of.

I prefer a fan profile which will support high temperatures under stress testing, but under gaming 45-65c have a decent noise level whilst still applying good airflow.

I also prefer that my fans have a "ramp up/down" period. So if the CPU hits high temperature for a few seconds and then ramp down again, I dont want my fans to instantly ramp up and down. I hope that make any sense.

Do I want my fans/pump to follow CPU temp, MB temp or Liquid is also another thing i am not quite sure of.

I hope someone will be able to assist me here.

Thanks in advance.

Best regards

Last edited:
Solution
I noticed a few things in BIOS I didnt quite understand. Such as "Ext. Fans" & "Chassis Fans", which is which.