Sharing DSL With Two Desktop Computers

Kohdi

Distinguished
Dec 3, 2006
Hi, i am brand new to this whole networking thing. I need help on connecting my two desktop computers to share a single DSL internet connection. I have not bought anything yet, just my two computers. Could someone help me through the process of what i should buy and how to do it without all the technical mumbo jumbo?

Thanks

Iceblue

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2006
Hard to do without ANY technical mumbo jumbo...

Do you know the make and model number of your DSL modem? The reason I ask is to determine if it has router functionality and an ethernet switch built in. This will help determine what else you need to buy.

G

Just buy any home router (wired or wireless) power off the DSL modem, connect the DSL modem to the router's Internet port, connect the 2 PCs to 2 local ports on the router, power on the DSL modem & router and then run the router's setup CD.

Grumpy

Iceblue

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2006
Many of the DSL modems supplied these days have a router built in. If so, all he needs is an ethernet switch. That's why I asked. A switch is a lot cheaper and requires NO setup. It is also possible his DSL modem has a switch built in, too, in which case all he needs are cables.

Iceblue

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2006
Well, that link is certainly low on the technical mumbo jumbo scale! :wink: I'm not sure even I have the patience to wade through all of that.

Anyway, Kohdi, where does your setup stand at this point? Did your ISP / DSL provider do any installation services at all, or did they just deliver the hardware to you and wish you good luck?