Should I keep my old Lian-Li case or start with a new case?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PollyM

Reputable
Jul 14, 2015
My desktop PC is dead, since it was built in 2008 I think it's time for a new one. I want a good Workstation with an Intel i7.

I have a Lian-Li PC-V1000A Plus-II Mid Tower Case. It has 6 int 3.5", 4 ext 5.25" bays. It's ugly but I'm used to it. The front USB ports are USB 2 and it looks like the design of the case may limit my choice of power supplies by size.

Should I keep this case (to save a little money) or should I start with a new case? If I should start new, what brand should I look at? I want something with enough room, not a knuckle-scraper.

Thanks for any advice, I've never built my own before!

The prime mediocre

Distinguished
Uhhh do you by any chance live in southern California? Some of us (freaks!) love those cases.

The V1000-series is kind of a "they don't make them like this anymore" deal. You'd be hard-pressed to find a similar-quality all-aluminum case that isn't similar. For practical purposes, though, you could get a different case with better ports and quieter operation. Edit: oops! I checked and they still have the V1000LB. So I guess I'm being over-dramatic, and they do make them like that, now!

For a slightly newer (USB 3.0) and more acclaimed case, you could try the Silverstone FT02. It's very similar to the V1000, has a lot of drive bays, but the vertical airflow is cool and the exterior is a little nicer. The FT05 is also worth a look if you don't need as many drive bays, though it may be more difficult to find.

The new Lian-Li cases are pretty nice, if you don't mind lots of glass. You could look at the O11 WGX or its lower-cost variants.